Happy Mothers Day! Quiche Lorraine ( Variation)

I went back home this past Sunday for Mothers Day. Since we had a few family members coming over I decided to do a brunch. The original boring plan was my amazing omelets however I said nahhh lets get a little more creative.  So while I was on the train I decided that I wanted to make a quiche.  I began thinking of what my family likes, what I like and came up with Quiche Lorraine.  I made a few variations and have included my recipe below:

 

1 Frozen Pie Crust

4 Eggs

1 1/4 cup LIGHT cream

2 Cups of cheese ( I used Swiss & Jarlsberg)

7 Strips of bacon

1 Shallot

1/2 Teaspoon olive oil

Salt & Pepper to taste

Cayenne Pepper to top & spice

 

Preheat oven to 425.  Cook bacon until crispy, set aside and let cool.  Saute shallots in olive oil until caramelized, set aside.  Grate or crumble cheese and combine in a bowl with crumbled bacon and shallots. Fill pie crust with mixture and set aside.   In a large bowl beat 4 eggs, light cream, salt & pepper with a dash of cayenne pepper.  Pour into crust over mixture and top with a sprinkle of cayenne pepper. 

Bake in oven for 15 minutes on 425.  Drop heat to 300 and bake an additional 20-30 minutes ( until a knife inserted comes out moist but clean)

 

Enjoy!

 

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

